Asbestos, a set of six naturally occurring minerals, has been used for more than 2000 years for its heat resistance and insulation properties. Three of these asbestos types, chrysotile, amosite, and crocidolite, were actively mined for their heat resistant properties.  The remaining three types, tremolite, actinolite, and anthophyllite, were primarily non-commercial contaminants in other types of asbestos ore or in talc ore. 

Asbestos use gained popularity in the late 1800s during the Industrial Revolution and peaked during World War II. By the early 1900s, however, it was reported that inhaling asbestos dust and fibers could cause deadly lung diseases. 

If you have been diagnosed with an asbestos-related disease, we can help. 

12350 Jefferson Ave
Suite 300
Newport News, 23602

  • PWHD Facebook
  • PWHD LinkedIn

©2020 by Patten, Wornom, Hatten & Diamonstein, L.C.  |  Disclaimer